Playing with the Stroppel Cane Technique!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is exciting to see the work of polymer clay artists and learn from them. The web is a great place to pick up new tips. Some months back I was thrilled to see the work of Alice Stroppel on a blog. She shared a video of the Stroppel Cane technique, developed while she was experimenting with left over canes. Click on the link to watch it – it’s fascinating! That’s what I love about polymer clay… you can do a few simple things and get magical results!

Of course, I couldn’t resist playing with the technique. I didn’t have any leftover canes since I don’t make a lot of fancy canes, so I extruded some ‘canes’ or really, I should say ‘snakes’ of clay, sliced them up and used them to try out her technique. It was a lot of fun, and I’m pretty sure I’ll go back to create some more!

7 responses to “Playing with the Stroppel Cane Technique!

  1. Cathy Brinkman

    This is beautiful. Can’t wait to see your work.

  2. You made some really great cane using the technique. I’m so glad you’re having fun. Alice

    • Wow! Alice, I am absolutely honored (and delighted) that you saw my post. I admire your work and especially love your technique. You were so generous to share it with polymer clay enthusiasts like me! I’ve had lots of fun with it. I have several more canes sitting on my craft table waiting for me to figure out what I want to do with them! I cheated and used extruded canes rather than leftover canes but it worked for me! :0) Thanks, again!

  3. no cheating, just new ways to do it. I was delight to share..

  4. this ipad keeps leaving off letters…oh wait, maybe it’s me not proofing before sending lol That should have been “delighted”.

Leave a Reply

